Our Archive

Major’s Hill Park was one of the most popular cruising sites in Ottawa during the 1960s to 1980s due to its proximity to MacKenzie Street, the main street for sex work, and its privacy in foliage. However, as cruising in the area became more popular, it also became more dangerous with 7 reports of men […]

Read More

UNION STATION

admin Uncategorized October 17, 2019

Completed in 1912 and still standing today at 2 Rideau Street, the former Union Station was in important location for visiting celebrities and dignitaries. In 1939, King George VI and Queen Elizabeth arrived in Ottawa to dedicate the National War Memorial during their tour of the country. Other important visits include those of Winston Churchill and […]

Read More

MALAK KARSH

admin Uncategorized October 17, 2019

Malak Karsh was born in Turkey in 1915, followed his brother Yousef to Ottawa after enduring the Armenian Genocide. Malak worked as a photographer, mainly focusing on the natural beauty he saw in the capital city. One of his favourite subjects was the plots of tulips that Canada receives from the Netherlands. Wanting to create […]

Read More

Between 1870 and 1959 rail tracks zig-zagged through Ottawa’s streets, bringing commuters from Britannia Beach to Rockcliffe Park and everywhere in between. In 1901, the future King George V and Queen Mary embarked on a Royal Tour of Canada. To honour their visit, the Ottawa Electric Railway Company (OER) converted a streetcar from their Britannia […]

Read More

LA SALLE

admin Uncategorized October 17, 2019

Father J.E. Guigues, consecrated Bishop of Bytown, formed La Salle academy in 1848, La Salle Academy was formed in 1848 by Father J.E. Guigues, the consecrated Bishop of Bytown. While the academy initially received criticism for its bilingual nature, it eventually provided education for nearly equal numbers of Irish and French Catholics, as well as […]

Read More

From fall 1972 until summer of 1974, Major’s Hill was the site of an archeological dig for the home of Col John. While initially a successful dig, a year later it was discovered that the artifacts and reports that were intended to be sent to the National War Museum had in fact gone missing. After […]

Read More

DR. VALADE

admin Uncategorized October 17, 2019

When Louis Riel was found guilty of high treason, his lawyers sought to have him declared legally insane in order to avoid the death penalty. Three doctors – including Dr. Valade – were brought in to decide this. Dr. Valade was the only doctor out of the three selected to conclude that Riel was legally […]

Read More

TIN HOUSE

admin Uncategorized October 17, 2019

Standing at 136 Guigues Street, the original Tin House was designed by Ottawa tinsmith Honoré Foisy and was likely intended to showcase Foisy’s ability and the products he offered. When the building was demolished in 1961, the NCC saved the facade of the house and moved it to a warehouse, where it fell into decay. […]

Read More

Founded 1919 in Ottawa, the Sisters of L’Institut Jeanne d’Arc were the only francophone order of women in Ontario. The women’s order dedicated itself to the improvement of the economic opportunities of women arriving to work in Ottawa, and sought to give women the means to progress beyond the typical female jobs of the time. […]

Read More

Le Hibou Café, located at 521 Sussex Drive from 1961 to 1975, played an important part in the growth of Ottawa’s artistic community. Artists including Joni Mitchell, Muddy Waters, Jimi Hendrix, and Ottawa’s own Bruce Cockburn were just some of the many musicians to play there. Cockburn would go on to become a world-famous singer […]

Read More